Board of Selectmen

Photo credit
Town Hall Mantel
Photo © Seth Girardin

The Board of Selectmen is the primary governing body of the Town of Norfolk. They serve two-year terms.


The Board of Selectmen is an elected, three member board responsible for the oversight and delivery of all general municipal services and act as the appointing authority for all non-elected town boards and commissions. The First Selectman oversees the general, day to day operations.

The Board of Selectmen meet on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at Town Hall.
Minutes of meetings are filed in the office of the First Selectman.

Our responsibilities include:
  • Building permit applications
  • Household hazardous waste tickets
  • Permits: driveway, burning, 911 street numbers, peddler, cemetery, pistol, use of town properties
  • Energy assistance

Elected Officials & Staff

  • Matthew T. Riiska, 1st Selectman
  • Susan M. Dyer, Selectman
  • Alexandria (Sandy) Evans, Selectman

Hours of Operation

  • Monday-Thursday. 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Mailing Address

Board of Selectmen
PO Box 592
Norfolk, CT 06058


Need Help?

Questions regarding the Board of Selectmen should be addressed to Selectman's Office at 860-542-5829 or via