Conservation Commission

Photo credit
Photo © Katherine Griswold

The Conservation Commission is a five member Advisory Commission, appointed by the Board of Selectmen. Their responsibilities include advising the Selectmen on the maintenance of town properties, providing educational programs to the public and maintaining a list of natural resources.

Our Next Meeting: May 16, 2018 7:00pm


The Norfolk Conservation Commission is an official town commission, appointed by the Board of Selectmen. It consists of five commission members and two alternates who serve three-year terms. Formerly a part of the Inland Wetlands Agency, the Conservation Commission separated from that body in February 2009. Its state mandated duties include keeping an index of all open publicly or privately owned areas, including wetlands, for the purpose of obtaining information on their proper use; conducting research into the use, and possible use, of land in the municipality; administering gifts made to the municipality for the commission’s purposes, subject to the terms of those gifts; and approving, before their submission, state grant-in-aid applications for programs related to the use of open space land for conservation or recreation purposes.


  • John P. Anderson, Chair
  • Mary M. Ackerly
  • Elisabeth B. Borden
  • Shelley E. Harms
  • Alnasir Pradhan
  • Susannah Wood
  • Martha Klein, Alternate

Mailing Address

Norfolk Town Hall
c/o Conservation Commission
19 Maple Avenue
Norfolk, CT 06058

Need Help?

Questions regarding the Conservation Commission should be addressed to Conservation Commission at 860-542-5829 or via